1   2   3 

 InterCity CrossCountry franchise

Long distance services  >  Great-Britain  >  Virgin Rail
News  Mediarail.be
>  Les grandes lignes britanniques
>  WCML - ECML - Cross Country - Virgin Rail - Stagecoach - Sleeper Caledonian
>  ÖBB Railjet - CD Railjet ÖBB Nighjet - CFF - Frecciabianca - PKP Intercity - Renfe
>  Privés réguliers : NTV Italo - Thello - Leo Express - Regiojet -  Westbahn - FlixtrainTransdev - MTR - ILSA
Virgin CrossCountry was a train operating company in the United Kingdom operating the InterCity CrossCountry franchise from January 1997 until November 2007. Virgin CrossCountry operated some of the longest direct rail services in the United Kingdom but most avoided Greater London after 2003. All services called or terminated at Birmingham New Street.
Hier
InterCity CrossCountry franchise by Virgin (1997 - 2007)
It is an iconic franchise for several reasons. It is the one that avoids London and that connects directly the big British cities. It operates many intercity trains in the UK that do not serve London, including the longest direct rail service from Aberdeen in northeastern Scotland to Penzance in Cornwall in the Southwest of England. It is one of only two franchised train operators that operates no stations, the other being the Caledonian Sleeper. All connections leave or end at Birmingham New Street. Major cities served by CrossCountry include Cardiff, Liverpool, Manchester, Glasgow, Aberdeen ...
Specifications

First operator: 
Subsidiary / Division:  

Branch:    
Commercial segment:
Duration of the franchise:  
                  
                 
Second operator: 
Duration of the franchise: 
Virgin Trains
51% Virgin Rail Group Ltd
49% Stagecoach
Passenger transport
Long distance
6/1/1997 – 10/11/2007

Arriva
11/11/2007 - 12/2019

Aujourd'hui
Demain
This franchise, awarded in November 1996, was Virgin's first ever, and was officially launched on January 6, 1997, three months before the West Coast.
1997 - 2003 : train services before Dmu Voyagers
For this franchise, which includes non-electrified routes, the former British Rail fleet included:  
- 28 Class 47 diesel locomotives (built in 1963-66);  
- 16 Class 86 electric locomotives (built in 1965-66);  
- 193 Mk II cars built in 1968-72 which allow 25 trainsets of seven cars for operations at 145 and 160 km / h;  
- 57 HST Class 43 powercars (built in 1978-82);  
- 199 Mk III cars for HST trains (built over the period 1978-82) which allow 24 trainsets of 7 cars and 3 trainsets of 8 cars, suitable for 200 km / h &  
- 5 Dmu Class 158 with 2 cars (built in 1990). 
 
Virgin began the franchise with 57 trainsets for its CrossCountry service. HST 125 fans are delighted to see that this rolling stock, one of the icons of the British Rail intercity, still carried on his great career beyond privatization and orders for new rolling stock. Since 2003, all this material will be gradually recased elsewhere, in other operators with others colors and logos ...

Mk2 cars
These cars were built in 1970 under the Mk2c type, followed by the Mk2d in 1971 which has air conditioning, the power supply becoming standard with an alternator to provide lighting, heating and air conditioning. The Mk2e type was introduced in 1972-73 with the coming of fluorescent tubes for lighting. The major change was especially the more compact toilet. The final development was the Mk2f type introduced in 1973-75 whose interior design features improved seating and air conditioning through the side heaters. All Mk2 are equipped with B4 bogies suitable for 160 km / h and seats facing 2 by 2. The 193 vehicles which inherited by Virgin Trains in 1997 for its franchise contrast greatly with the rolling stock still "old" driving on the Continent, for example SNCF 'Corails' or the European VSEs cars that were born also during the 70's. Since 1994, Eurostar arrived in Waterloo-Station with a radical modern different design ... That's why the first years of Virgin were difficult: the reuse of existing rolling stock at the time of privatization looked like a bad joke for the customers...
Partagez cette page
First class Mk2F car in Nuneaton in 16 june 2002 (photo Steve Jones via license flickr)
We do not have pictures of the interior design of the Mk2 cars at the time of Virgin, but of others operators. The Mk2 are today exploited for the most part in what is called in the 'heritage railways', the historic railways. Some photos allow us to guess the comfort that was offered at that time on the CrossCountry franchise. Right here the first class version at an event of the Cotswold Rail in 2008. And below what could be the second class ...
(photos Mattbuck via license wikipedia)
Diesel Class 47
The operation with Mk2 trains, whose services were mainly driven on non-electrified lines, was entrusted to the venerable Class 47 diesel locomotives. Developed between 1962 and 1968, nearly 512 locomotives were built, making it the serie with the most great number of locomotives built. Porterbrook owned a large Class 47/8 fleet, and Virgin then completed the fleet with four EWS class 47/7 machines for his semi-permanent service. In total, and despite a lack of reliability, Virgin leases 28 machines to complete its needs alongside the HST125 trainsets. Class 47 were only needs between 2002 and 2003, the year of gradual withdrawal of this class with the coming of Dmu Voyager and Super Voyager.
Class 47 named  'The Institution of Mechanical Engineers'  at Exeter St Davids station, on June 2, 2002 (photo Les Chatfield via licence flickr) 
HST 125
The InterCity 125, which was the icon of British Rail, are diesel-powered passenger trains built between 1975 and 1982. Each train consisted of two Class 43 engines, and a set of six to nine Mk3 cars. Mk3 cars for HSTs are virtually identical to those for pulled trains, except for a difference in auxiliaries for powering air conditioning, heating and lighting. Virgin receives a park which makes it possible to compose 25 trainsets of 7 cars, the remainder being for the reserve. Virgin had retained the HSTs for Cross Country and partially for West Coast services to achieve a massive increase in mileage from May 1998 as part of a franchise commitment. On January 6, 1997, the 43063 'Maiden Voyager' and 43068, painted in the bright red livery of the company, started the first Edinburgh - Penzance train, paving the way for ten years of Virgin-colored trains on CrossCountry. They will spread, avoiding London, to Penzance, Plymouth, Exeter, Bristol, Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester, York, Newcastle and Edinburgh, and further north to Aberdeen. Some saturday summer services were added with trains to destinations such as Newquay and Paignton. To help Virgin Trains in this operation, HST trains were also hired from GNER and Midland Mainline, which added more colors of the Virgin services...
HST 43166 passing Cardiff Canton, on July 15, 2002 (photo Steve Jones via licence flickr) 
In October 2002, Virgin Cross Country launched Operation Princess, which sees the massive arrival of the new Bombardier Voyager trains, moving the HST 125s from their original routes. A fleet named Challenger was planned to operate the services of Blackpool and Manchester to Birmingham, with the objective of modernizing this fleet and keeping HST's trainsets within Virgin Cross Country for a future project from London-Paddington to Birmingham via Swindon. The HST trains were shortened to 5 cars while remaining framed by two motor. This would have given the trains a better acceleration, similar to Voyager units. But the project was finally not approved. Another fleet, called Pioneer was briefly formed for regular service until September 2003 on Virgin Cross Country. Only a lighter fleet was still needed for West Coast services. 43090/093 / 099-103 / 154/157/158 were all surplus and were stored at Bicester. A new period coming ...
2001 : coming of Bombardier Voyager et Super Voyager
It was time ! Should not privatization change the design of trains? It took five years, according to fleet director who said that unlike Virgin Atlantic's planes, « with trains, it takes at least five years to design and build new vehicles ». The challenge dates back to 1998 when Bombardier received a contract from Virgin Trains for the purchase and maintenance of a fleet of 78 Bombardier "Voyager" diesel trains originally operated for the Cross Country franchise. There were finally two types of Voyager trains ordered by Virgin:  
- 34 trainsets Class 220 four cars trains;  
- 44 trainsets Class 221 reams with four or five tilting cars.  
 
A Class 222 was also built but did not concern Virgin. Some of the Class 220 and 221 trains were built at the Bombardier plant in Bruges, Belgium, and others at Wakefield. The fact that these trainsets arrived for the new millennium allowed the customers to see that England made a quantumleap of a century, compared to the Mk2 cars... This is the first time in the history of the railway that CrossCountry passengers benefited from a new fleet of trains. The Voyagers offer indeed many train facilities that have never been seen before in the UK, including digital seat reservations, audio entertainment instead an on-board shop. CrossCountry being a national franchise managed by only one operator, so the new trains were visible across the country from Aberdeen to Penzance.  
 
The Voyager Class 220
Dmu 220 003 four cars entering in Bristol Temple Meads station, le 6 septembre 2005 (photo Chris McKenna via wikipedia) 
Class 220 are diesel trainsets with 174 standard seats, and 26 seats in first class, ie 200 seats in total. These trainsets were only in operation for the CrossCountry franchise. All units are owned by Lloyds Banking Group's subsidiaries and remain - to date - in maintenance by Bombardier Transportation Service (BTS) at the Central Rivers depot near Burton-on-Trent.

Dmu 220 can operate in multiple units with the Class 221 but not with the 222. These diesel units have a range of 2,170 km between each refueling. What strikes immediately is the design of the bogies: they were manufactured in Crespin in France with a light conception. 
Designated B5005 and sold under the name Flexx Eco, this is a development of the  xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
the B5000 bogie produced in 1991 by RFS Specialist Rail Products in collaboration with British Rail Research for the operation of Network SouthEast. Bombardier upgraded the original BR specification to allow 200 km / h operation of the B5005 with one drive axle and up to 225 km / h for a bogies under cars. Thanks to the innovative features of the extremely compact design, the FLEXX Eco bogie offers a 30% reduction in unsprung mass and the full mass compared to conventional bogies. In Great Britain, in particular, where infrastructure access fees are directly related to the aggressiveness produced on the track, these characteristics generated  xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
significant advantages for the train operator. The axles are supported by bearings behind the wheels, which means that the outer face of the wheel is then visible. For his service, Virgin gave each trainset with a baptismal name that the following operator, Arriva, will delete rapidly....

The Dmu 220 were criticized for their small size. Their body design is ovoid to meet the narrower British gauge, but in reality it is identical to the Class 221 designed for tilting. But class 220 don't have this technical possibility that would have required a change of bogie. Another criticism was the noise and vibrations under the floor, which the regulars passengers of the HST don't knew, for at least one reason : on the Voyager Class 220, each car is motorized, not on HST 125. Finally, the choice of four cars could be largely insufficient at certain times on the day or some days of the year, for example during holydays. Line sections where they could reach their maximum speed of 200km / h are very few. Apart from that, the Class 220s produced a considerable qualitative leap on a British network accustomed to antiques.

Super Voyager Class 221
Dmu 221121 Super Voyager with five cars in Taunton station (photo Peter Skuce via wikipedia) 
Like the Voyager Class 220, their successors Super Voyager Class 221 enter service on the Birmingham-Reading-Brighton route. The 44 diesel electric trainsets with four or five cars were built in 2002. Unlike the previous vehicles, Class 221 used a new generation of bogies which, at the same top speed of 200 km / h, were lighter than those mounted on the Class 220. This allowed Virgin to pay significantly reduced track costs. The second innovation is the tilting technology, and we find the same ovoid-shaped body that on the Class 220. 
 
Concerning the 44 Class 221 trainsets, 4 were paid for the benefit of the other franchise, the West Coast, in order to operate the partially non-electrified route between London Euston and Holyhead (port of Wales to join the Ireland by ferry). These trainsets only had four cars instead of five. They were 40 tons heavier than the Class 220 due to their tilting system, and much of the additional weight is located in the bogie which have a different design to accommodate tilt equipment. Both versions are however identical, with components coming from the same suppliers. The hydraulic tilting system originates from those used on Canada's LRC train in the 1970s. Its design was later developed for Amtrak's Acela Express in the United States, and was then chosen as basis system for the Super Voyager. The body tilts up to 6 ° with a maximum of 225mm.
Train service on the Cross Country
Voyager's first complete train was completed in Belgium in autumn 2000, and arrived in Britain in January 2001 for testing. On May 21 of the same year, a first unplanned service, open to the public, was operated from Birmingham to Reading. The official launch of Voyagers took place on June 5, 2001 by Sir Richard Branson. 
 
Virgin CrossCountry - abbreviated as VXC - is the only national railway operating company (TOC). The planning called 'Princess' required four years of negotiations, with seven different Railtrack zones, with 18 other TOCs, with the Strategic Rail Authority (SRA) and with nearly 150 councils in 235 constituencies. Railtrack also spent € 224 million on infrastructure upgrades before launching the new CrossCountry schedule. The commercial service itself began on September 30, 2002 to the Birmingham-Reading route, where travel was reduced by more than 20% from 1 hour 50 minutes to 1 hour 27 minutes. The number of trains between Birmingham and Reading increased from 18 to 41 trains a day. 
 
With their 74 trainsets in service for VXC, the CrossCountry franchise can exploit all its opportunities. Virgin now offers 215 daily trains instead of the 90 British Rail trains before 1996. This is therefore more than doubling. For the new September 2002 time schedule, VXC services ran systematically with four Birmingham-based routes, with hourly or half-hour service to many UK destinations. VXC serves a total of 115 stations, making it a truly national franchise. Four sections between Birmingham, Reading, Bristol, Stafford and Sheffield have a half-hour train service, some of the trains of which continuing to their final destination (Southampton, Penzance, Cardiff, Edinburgh ...). The map on right shows the 2002 service concerning the two franchises and the 4 lines of the CrossCountry (VT1 and VT4 are common route):
VT1
Penzance - Exeter - Bristol - Birmingham - Crewe - Carlisle - Glasgow / Blackpool
VT2
Pool - Southampton - Reading - Oxford - Birmingham - Manchester - Carlsile - Glasgow / Edimbourg - (Aberdeen)
VT3
Portsmouth / Brighton - Reading - Oxford - Birmingham - Manchester
VT4
Penzance - Exeter / Swansea - Cardiff - Bristol - Birmingham - York - Newcastle - Edimbourg - (Aberdeen)
VT6
Swindon - Birmingham
Maintenance
As was the norm for all rolling stock orders, nearly € 774 million of the full project costs were allocated to the maintenance part with Bombardier Transportation Service. As part of this contract, maintenance throughout the duration of the VXC franchise required for Bombardier to build a new 33.66 million depot, named "Central Rivers", located in Barton-under-Needwood, close to Burton-on-Trent, optimaly placed in the heart of most VXC routes. This site was chosen because his proximity with the historic facilities of Derby and Crewe. The depot inaugurated in May 2001 include inspection pits, hoisting facilities, train washing and refueling. His surface enables maintenance of almost 20 trains per night and it was the first depot built and used solely for CrossCountry services and was at the time reputed to be xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
an ultra-modern maintenance site because of its organized interior and its operational efficiency. Another difference is the Bombardier depot have greatly help to forgotten the old British Rail era...
Great line-up of Class 220 at Central Rivers Depot (photo press Bombardier)
2007 : franchises restructuring
The difficult beginnings of the franchise system, theirs short lead times, and the experience acquired drove for a new version of the system in 2007. Franchises were modified, others were created. Despite good assets and renewed rolling stock, the government decided in 2006 to award the Intercity CrossCountry franchise to a new operator, Arriva UK. Virgin, however, retained the services between the West Midlands and Scotland, which were then transferred to the West Coast Main Line franchise activities. CrossCountry had to transfer the Manchester-Scotland route for the new TransPennine Express, while conversely, a number of interregional routes from Birmingham were transferred to the new Arriva CrossCountry franchise. Concerning the rolling stock, all Class 220 trains were allocated to the new operator while the 221 trains were divided into two groups: 20 trains for Virgin Trains and 24 trainsets for Arriva UK, maintenance remaining in the Bombardier depot of Central Rivers.
1   2   3

1   2   3 

 La franchise InterCity CrossCountry 

Grande-Bretagne  >  Grande ligne  >  Virgin Rail
News  Mediarail.be
>  Les grandes lignes britanniques
>  WCML - ECML - Cross Country - Virgin Rail - Stagecoach - Sleeper Caledonian
>  ÖBB Railjet - CD Railjet ÖBB Nighjet - CFF - Frecciabianca - PKP Intercity - Renfe
>  Privés réguliers : NTV Italo - Thello - Leo Express - Regiojet -  Westbahn - FlixtrainTransdev - MTR - ILSA
Demain
La franchise InterCity CrossCountry (1997 - 2007)
Une franchise emblématique à plus d'un titre. C'est celle qui évite Londres au départ des grandes villes britanniques. Elle exploite de nombreux trains interurbains et autres trains Intercity au Royaume-Uni qui ne desservent pas Londres, y compris le plus long service ferroviaire direct qui part d' Aberdeen au nord-est de l'Écosse jusqu'à Penzance en Cornouailles dans le sud-ouest de l'Angleterre. C'est l'une des deux seules compagnies d'exploitation de trains franchisés qui n'opère aucune gare, l'autre étant le Caledonian Sleeper. Toutes les liaisons partent ou se terminent à Birmingham New Street. Les grandes villes desservies par CrossCountry incluent aussi Cardiff, Liverpool, Manchester, Glasgow, Aberdeen...
Caractéristiques

Premier opérateur : 
Filiales / Divisions :   

Branche :    
Segment commercial :
Durée du service :   
                  
                 
Second opérateur : 
Durée du service :


Virgin Trains
51% Virgin Rail Group Ltd
49% Stagecoach
Transport voyageurs
Grande ligne
6/1/1997 – 10/11/2007

Arriva
11/11/2007 - 12/2019


Cette franchise, attribuée en novembre 1996, est la toute première à être exploitée par Virgin, et son lancement officiel eut lieu le 6 janvier 1997, trois mois avant celle de la West Coast. 
1997 - 2003 : le service des trains avant les Voyagers
Pour cette franchise, qui fait notamment appel à des trajets non-électrifiés, le parc de l'ex-British Rail est alloué avec : 
- 28 locomotives diesel de la Class 47 (construites en 1963-66) 
- 16 locomotives électriques de Class 86 (construites en 1965-66) 
193 voitures Mk II construites 1968-72 formant 25 rames de sept voitures pour les opérations à 145 et 160 km/h 
- 57 motrices HST Class 43 (construites en 1978-82) 
199 voitures Mk III pour rames HST (construites sur la période 1978-82) formant 24 rames de 7 voitures et 3 rames de 8 voitures, aptes à 200 km/h  
5 autorails Class 158 à 2 caisses (construits en 1990) 

Au total donc, Virgin dispose de 57 rames pour ses opérations CrossCountry dès 1997. Les fans des HST 125 sont ravis de voir que ce matériel, l'une des icones de l'intercity de British Rail, continue quelques temps sa belle carrière au-delà de la privatisation et des commandes de nouveaux matériels roulants. Car dès 2003, tout ce matériel sera progressivement recasé ailleurs, sous d'autres couleurs et d'autres logos...

Les voitures Mk2
Ce sont des voitures construites en 1970 à partir du type Mk2c, suivi des Mk2d en 1971 qui possède la climatisation, l'alimentation devenant standard avec un alternateur pour fournir l'éclairage, le chauffage et la climatisation. Le type Mk2e a été introduit en 1972-73 avec l'introduction de tubes fluorescents pour l'éclairage et le changement majeur fût surtout la toilette plus compacte. Le développement final a été le type Mk2f introduit en 1973-75 dont le design d'intérieur dispose de l'allocation des places et de la climatisation améliorées par les réchauffeurs latéraux. Toutes les Mk2 sont équipées de bogies B4 aptes à 160 km/h et on des sièges en vis-à-vis 2 par 2. Les 193 véhicules dont hérite Virgin Trains en 1997 pour sa franchise tranchent fortement avec le matériel roulant encore "ancien" qui roule sur le continent, songeons aux Corails SNCF ou aux VSE européennes qui sont nées aussi courant des années 70. En gare de Londres-Waterloo,  depuis 1994 arrivaient des Eurostar avec un tout autre design... Voilà pourquoi les premières années de Virgin furent laborieuses : la réutilisation de matériel existant au moment de la privatisation sonnait comme une mauvaise farce pour la clientèle...
Partagez cette page
Une Mk2F de première classe à Nuneaton sur une rame Virgin le 16 juin 2002 (photo Steve Jones via license flickr)
Nous n'avons pas de clichés du design intérieur lors du passage des Mk2 à l'époque de Virgin, mais bien sur des opérateurs ultérieurs. Les Mk2 sont aujourd'hui exploitées pour la plupart dans ce qu'on appelle les 'heritage railways', les chemins de fer historiques. Quelques photos nous permettent ainsi de deviner le confort qui fût à l'époque offert sur une partie des trains de la franchise CrossCountry. Ci-contre à droite la version première classe lors d'un évènement du Cotswold Rail en 2008. Et ci-dessous ce que pouvait être la seconde classe...
(photos Mattbuck via license wikipedia)
La traction en Class 47
La traction des rames Mk2, dont les services roulaient essentiellement sur lignes non-électrifiées, furent confiées aux vénérables locomotives diesel de Class 47. Développée entre 1962 et 1968, près de 512 locomotives furent construits, ce qui en a fait la série de locomotives comptant le plus d'exemplaires. Porterbrook possédait un grand parc de Class 47/8, et Virgin compléta ensuite par quatre machines class 47/7 d'EWS, engagées sur une base semi-permanente. Au total, et en dépit d'un manque de fiabilité, Virgin prend en leasing 28 machines pour compléter ses besoins aux côtés des rames automotrices HST125. Les besoins en Class 47 ne durèrent que jusqu'en 2002/2003, années de leur retrait progressif suite à l'arrivée des Voyager et Super Voyager.
Class 47 baptisée  'The Institution of Mechanical Engineers'  le 7 juin 2002 en gare d'Exeter St Davids (photo Les Chatfield via licence flickr) 
Les rames HST 125
Les emblématiques InterCity 125, qui furent l'icone de British Rail, sont des trains de voyageurs à moteur diesel construit entre 1975 et 1982. Chaque rame était composée de deux motrices Class 43, et d'un ensemble de six à neuf voitures Mk3. Les voitures Mk3 pour les HST sont pratiquement identiques à celles pour rames tractées, si ce n'est une différence au niveau des auxiliaires pour l'alimentation de la climatisation, du chauffage et de l'éclairage. Virgin reçoit un parc qui permet de composer 25 rames de 7 voitures, le reliquat étant pour la réserve. Virgin avait regroupé les motrices HST pour les services de la Cross Country et partiellement de la côte ouest afin de réaliser une augmentation massive du kilométrage parcouru à partir de mai 1998, dans le cadre d'un engagement de franchise. Le 6 janvier 1997, les 43063 'Maiden Voyager' et 43068, peintes dans la livrée rouge vif de l'entreprise, débutèrent le premier train Edimbourg - Penzance, ouvrant la voie à dix années de trains aux couleurs Virgin sur CrossCountry. Elles iront se répandre, en évitant Londres, jusqu'à Penzance, Plymouth, Exeter, Bristol, Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester, York, Newcastle et Edinburgh, et plus loin au nord jusqu'à Aberdeen. À ces services s'additionnaient, en été, plusieurs trains du samedi vers des destinations telles que Newquay et Paignton. Pour aider Virgin Trains dans cette opération, des rames HST furent également embauchées auprès du GNER et du Midland Mainline, ce qui rajouta encore au pittoresque du service.
Une HST avec en tête la motrice 43166 de passage à Cardiff Canton, le 15 juillet 2002 (photo Steve Jones via licence flickr) 
En octobre 2002, Virgin Cross Country lançait son Operation Princess qui voit l'arrivée massive des nouvelles rames Bombardier Voyager, déplaçant les HST 125 de leurs itinéraires originaux. Une flotte nommée Challenger fût envisagée pour exploiter les services de Blackpool et de Manchester vers Birmingham, avec pour objectif de moderniser cette flotte et de conserver ces trains au sein de Virgin Cross Country pour un projet futur de Londres-Paddington à Birmingham via Swindon. Les rames HST furent raccourcies à 5 voitures tout en restant encadrées par deux motrices. Cela aurait donné aux rames une meilleure accélération, similaire aux unités Voyager. Mais le projet ne fût finalement pas approuvé. Un autre parc, baptisé Pioneer fût brièvement constitué pour un service régulier jusqu'en septembre 2003 sur Virgin Cross Country. Seule une flotte allégée était encore nécessaire pour les services de la West Coast. Les 43090/093 / 099-103 / 154/157/158 étaient tous excédentaires et furent entreposés à Bicester. Une nouvelle période s'annonçait...
2001 : l'arrivée des Bombardier Voyager et Super Voyager
Il était temps ! La privatisation ne devait-elle pas non plus changer les trains ? Il aura fallu attendre cinq ans, conformément aux dires du directeur de l'époque qui déclarait que contrairement aux avions de Virgin Atlantic, « avec les trains, il faut au moins cinq ans pour concevoir et construire de nouveaux véhicules ».

Le défis remonte pourtant déjà à 1998, quand Bombardier a reçu un contrat de Virgin Trains pour l'achat et la maintenance complète d'une flotte de 78 rames diesel Bombardier "Voyager" exploités à l'origine pour la franchise Cross Country. Il y eut finalement deux types de rames Voyager commandés pour Virgin : 
- les 34 rames Class 220 à quatre caisses;
- les 44 rames Class 221 à quatre ou cinq caisses inclinables.

Une Class 222 fût aussi construite mais ne concerna pas Virgin. Une partie des rames Class 220 et 221 furent construites à l'usine Bombardier de Bruges, en Belgique, et d'autres à Wakefield. Le fait que ces rames arrivèrent pour le nouveau millénaire permit à la clientèle de gloser sur le fait qu'en matière ferroviaire, l'Angleterre fît un bon qualitatif d'un siècle. Comparé aux braves Mk2, il y avait de quoi... C'est la première fois dans l'histoire du chemin de fer que les passagers de CrossCountry bénéficièrent d'une nouvelle flotte de trains. Les Voyagers proposent en effet de nombreuses installations de train que l’on n’avait jamais vues auparavant au Royaume-Uni, y compris des réservations de sièges numériques, des divertissements audio à la place et une boutique à bord. CrossCountry est le seul opérateur de train de niveau national, et les nouvelles rames étaient donc visibles à travers tout le pays, d’Aberdeen à Penzance.

Les Voyager Class 220
La 220 003 à quatre caisses entre en gare de Bristol Temple Meads, le 6 septembre 2005 (photo Chris McKenna via wikipedia) 
Les rames de Class 220 sont des rames diesel à quatre caisses dotée d'une capacité de 174 places en classe standard, et 26 places en première, soit 200 sièges au total. Ces rames ne sont destinées QUE pour la franchise CrossCountry. Toutes les unités appartenaient à des filiales de Lloyds Banking Group et de RBS et sont - et restent à l'heure actuelle - , entretenues par Bombardier Transport Service (BTS) au dépôt de Central Rivers, près de Burton-on-Trent. 

Les 220 peuvent fonctionner en unité multiple avec les Class 221 mais pas avec les 222. Ces unités diesel ont un rayon d'action de 2.170 km entre chaque ravitaillement. Ce qui frappe d'emblée est le design des bogies : ils ont été fabriqués à Crespin en France avec un design léger. Désignés B5005 puis vendu sous le nom de Flexx Eco, il s'agit d'un
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
développement du bogie B5000 produit en 1991 par RFS Specialist Rail Products en collaboration avec British Rail Research pour l'exloitation du Network SouthEast. Bombardier a mis à niveau l'ancienne spécification originale des BR afin de permettre une exploitation à 200 km/h du B5005 avec un essieu moteur et jusqu'à 225 km/h sous une voiture. Grâce aux caractéristiques innovantes du design extrêmement compact, le bogie FLEXX Eco offre une réduction de 30% de la masse non suspendue ainsi que de la masse totale de bogie par rapport aux bogies conventionnels. En Grande-Bretagne, en particulier, où les frais d’accès à l'infrastructure sont directement liés à  xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
l'agressivité produite sur la voie, ces caractéristiques génèraient des avantages significatifs pour l’opérateur du train. Les essieux sont supportés par des paliers derrière les roues, ce qui signifie que la face extérieure de la roue est alors visible. Pour son service, Virgin leur donna à chacune un nom de baptême que l'opérateur suivant, Arriva, s'empressera de supprimer...

Les 220 furent critiquées pour leur exiguité. Le design de leur caisse, un peu ovoïde pour respecter le gabarit, est en fait identique aux Class 221 conçues pour l'inclinaison en courbe. Or les class 220 n'avaient pas cette possibilité technique qui aurait demandé un changement de bogie. Une autre critique concernait le bruit et les vibrations sous le plancher, que les habitués des HST 125 ne connaissaient pas, et pour cause. Sur les Voyager Class 220, chaque voiture est motorisée. Enfin, on constatait que le choix de quatre caisses pouvait être largement insuffisant à certaines heures et à certains moment de l'année. Les sections où elles pouvaient atteindre leur vitesse maximum de 200km/h étaient fort peu nombreuses. Mis à part cela, les Class 220 ont produit un saut qualitatif considérable sur un réseau britannique habitué aux antiquités.

Les Super Voyager Class 221
La 221121 Super Voyager à cinq caisses en gare de Taunton (photo Peter Skuce via wikipedia) 
À l'instar des rames Voyager Class 220, leurs successeurs Super Voyager Class 221 entrent en service sur la liaison Birmingham-Reading-Brighton. Les 44 rames diesel électriques de quatre ou cinq caisses furent livrées dès 2002. Contrairement aux véhicules précédents, les 221 utilisent une nouvelle génération de bogies qui, à la même vitesse maximale de 200 km/h, étaient plus légers que ceux montés sur les 220. Cela permit à Virgin de payer des frais de voie considérablement réduits. La deuxième innovation est la technologie pendulaire, d'où la même caisse de forme ovoïde que l'on retrouve sur les 220. 

Sur les 44 rames Class 221, 4 furent versées au bénéfice de l'autre franchise, celle de la West Coast, dans le but d'exploiter la liaison partiellement non électrifiée entre Londres Euston et Holyhead (port du pays de Galle permettant de rejoindre l'Irlande par ferry). Ces rames eurent la particularité de n'avoir à l'origine que quatre caisses au lieu de cinq. Elles étaient par ailleurs plus lourdes de 40 tonnes par rapport à ses sœurs Voyager non inclinables, une grande partie du poids supplémentaire étant dans le bogie qui est de conception différente pour accueillir l’équipement d’inclinaison. Les deux versions sont cependant identiques, avec des composants provenant des mêmes fournisseurs. Le système d'inclinaison hydraulique provient de celui utilisé sur le train LRC du Canada dans les années 1970. Son design avait été développé ensuite pour l'Acela Express d'Amtrak, aux États-Unis, puis fût choisi comme base du mécanisme d'inclinaison du Super Voyager. La caisse s'incline jusqu'à 6 ° et se déporte de 225mm.
Le service des trains
Le premier train complet de Voyager fût achevé en Belgique à l'automne 2000, et arriva en Grande-Bretagne en janvier 2001 pour y être testé. Le 21 mai de la même année, un premier service non prévu, ouvert au public, fût exploité de Birmingham à Reading. Le lancement officiel des Voyagers eut lieu le 5 juin 2001 par Sir Richard Branson.

Virgin CrossCountry - en abrégé VXC -, est la seule compagnie nationale d’exploitation ferroviaire (TOC). La planification de l’opération Princess nécessita quatre années de négociations, avec 7 zones Railtrack différentes, avec 18 autres TOC, avec la Strategic Rail Authority (SRA) et avec près de 150 conseils dans 235 circonscriptions. Railtrack avait également dépensé 224 millions d'euros pour la mise à niveau des infrastructures avant le lancement du nouvel horaire CrossCountry. Le service commercial proprement dit ne débuta donc que le 30 septembre 2002, sur Birmingham-Reading, où le voyage était réduit de plus de 20%, passant de 1 heure 50 minutes à 1 heure 27 minutes. Le nombre de trains entre Birmingham et Reading passait de 18 à 41 trains par jour.

Avec ses 74 rames en service pour VXC, la franchise CrossCountry peut enfin tenir ses promesses. Virgin offre dorénavant 215 trains quotidiens au lieu des 90 de l'époque British Rail avant 1996. Soit plus qu'un doublement. La nouvelle configuration horaire de septembre 2002 exploita des services VXC systématisés en quatre itinéraires ayant pour base Birmingham, avec des services cadencés à l'heure ou toutes les deux heures vers de nombreuses destinations britanniques. VXC desservait au total 115 gares, ce qui en faisait une franchise vraiment nationale. Quatre sections entre Birmingham, Reading, Bristol, Stafford et Sheffield avaient un service de train à la demi-heure, dont les trains poursuivaient ensuite vers leur destination finale (Southampton, Penzance, Cardiff, Edimbourg...). La carte ci-contre du service de 2002 concernant les deux franchises  montre les 4 lignes de la CrossCountry : 
VT1
Penzance - Exeter - Bristol - Birmingham - Crewe - Carlisle - Glasgow / Blackpool
VT2
Pool - Southampton - Reading - Oxford - Birmingham - Manchester - Carlsile - Glasgow / Edimbourg - (Aberdeen)
VT3
Portsmouth / Brighton - Reading - Oxford - Birmingham - Manchester
VT4
Penzance - Exeter / Swansea - Cardiff - Bristol - Birmingham - York - Newcastle - Edimbourg - (Aberdeen)
VT6
Swindon - Birmingham
Maintenance
Comme c'était la norme pour toutes les commandes de matériel roulant, près de 774 millions d'euros des coûts totaux du projet furent attribués au volet maintenance avec Bombardier Transport Service. Dans le cadre de ce contrat, la maintenance durant toute la durée de la franchise VXC imposa à Bombardier de construire un nouvel atelier central de 33,66 millions d'euros, au nom de « Central Rivers », situé à Barton-under-Needwood, proche de Burton-on-Trent, judicieusement placé au coeur de la plupart des liaisons VXC. Ce site a été choisi en raison de la proximité des installations historiques de Derby et Crewe. Les installations du dépôt comprennent des fosses d’inspection, des installations de levage, le lavage des trains ainsi que le ravitaillement en carburant, et sa surface permet de réaliser  la  
xxxxxx
maintenance de près de 20 rames par nuit inauguré en mai 2001, c'était le premier dépôt construit et utilisé uniquement pour les services de la CrossCountry et il fût à l'époque réputé pour être un site de maintenance ultra-moderne en raison de son intérieur organisé et de son efficacité opérationnelle. Encore une différence qui devait faire oublier la grande époque British Rail....
Bel alignement de Class 220. L'atelier de Central Rivers peut gérer 20 rames par nuit (photo presse Bombardier) 
2007 : restructuration des franchises
Les débuts difficiles du système de franchises, ses délais trop courts, et l'expérience acquise militèrent pour une nouvelle mouture du système en 2007. Des franchises furent modifiées, d'autres furent créées. Malgré de bons atouts et un matériel roulant renouvelé, le gouvernement décida en 2006 d'attribuer la franchise Intercity CrossCountry à un nouvel opérateur, Arriva UK. Virgin conserva cependant les services entre les West Midlands et l'Ecosse, qui furent alors transférés aux activités de la franchise West Coast Main Line. CrossCountry dû céder la liaison Manchester-Écosse pour la nouvelle TransPennine Express, tandis qu'inversément, un certain nombre de routes interrégionales au départ de Birmingham furent reversées à la nouvelle franchise CrossCountry d'Arriva. Quant au matériel roulant, toutes les rames Class 220 furent attribuées au nouvel opérateur tandis que les rames 221 furent réparties entre deux groupes : 20 rames pour Virgin Trains et le reste pour Arriva UK, l'entretien demeurant tel quel auprès de Bombardier. 
1   2   3